Halloween Countdown 2015: Happy Birthday Tom Petty!

The infamous video for

Don’t Come Around Here No More.

It’s got costumes, it’s creepy. I think we women may get especially squicked out by this video, but I still love it. I always get a giggle out of Mike Campbell’s biting the cup in half and Howie Epstein’s( god rest his soul) making a face as he slams down a plate of donuts.

This video and song have long been some of my favorites of Petty’s work. I know that at the time he was going nuts from taking himself too seriously and recording and drinking and getting all worked up over everything and smashed his hand to smithereens..but after this album, he was a lot mellower, calmer human being.

He’s my favorite musician, and I’ve been a lifetime fan. He sent me some cool stuff after I wrote him an art-filled fan letter(I’ll elaborate on that another day); I’ll always be a fan. Tom, here’s to you on your birthday; have a good one.

Leave a Reply

