Oh, My Spinning Head…

Whew. I am worn out. I went to my longtime primary doctor today to finally get some help about my vertigo issues. But the affliction actually has a name! I have benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV), which is often aggravated by my still slightly wonky eyes and possible neurological issues that Dr. C wants to look into.
Steve​ and I think even Karyn​ had told me about the “ear crystals” they had read about, and that was exactly what Dr. C told me causes this horrendous head-spinning:

“Inside your ear is a tiny organ called the vestibular labyrinth. It includes three loop-shaped structures (semicircular canals) that contain fluid and fine, hair-like sensors that monitor the rotation of your head.

Other structures (otolith organs) in your ear monitor movements of your head — up and down, right and left, back and forth — and your head’s position related to gravity. These otolith organs contain crystals that make you sensitive to gravity.

For a variety of reasons, these crystals can become dislodged. When they become dislodged, they can move into one of the semicircular canals — especially while you’re lying down. This causes the semicircular canal to become sensitive to head position changes it would normally not respond to, which is what makes you feel dizzy.”

So have these exercises to do that involve sitting up and down and turning my head certain ways that, oddly enough, Steve had learned about and was trying to get me to do, but it was such torture to do them I stopped. Dr. C showed me step by step how to do them, and sure enough they worked. But he had to MAKE me dizzy first ..oh, god, my head…

As for the neurological side of things, he wanted to prescribe a steroid for me and I balked, because I had been on them before and they gave me terrible mood swings and made me hallucinate. It turns out I can see colors coming out of the radio when I am on a heavy steroid 😀 …like sheets of clear, colored plastic. He was going to put me on five milligrams of what a previous doctor had prescribed EIGHTY. YeoW!!
Anyway, the conversation turned very interesting when he asked me about my visual perception and color viewing and such. He asked if I were an artist and I said,”Well, I don’t call myself an artist, but I do produce something like art at an alarming rate..” he asked if I were a musician and if I could “see notes in color”, that some musicians could do this. Then he harkened back to what I said about steroids, and that I may have a latent ability to see notes as color, it just only gets brought out on drugs! 😀

Leave a Reply

